top of page

I Don't Do Diets

La dieta is in full effect! My arm no longer holds control of any possible births and I officially have no reason to hold onto these extra 40 pounds. I had a bad experience with the last birth control I was on - I'll make a separate post about it - and one of the results was buying a bunch of clothes that wouldn't fit me within the following three weeks. It has been a frustrating experience but it feels great to once again have control of my own body. Within six weeks I was able to lose 10 pounds, and the goal is to lose at least 30 more pounds by August 15th (my 22nd birthday!). I am refraining from posting my before pictures until I get further into my journey and I can accompany it with a comparison picture. Part of me is also afraid that maybe time will pass and I'll continue to have trouble getting the weight off…

…Details!

Lately, I’ve been focusing on eating smaller portions in order to bring myself into a calorie deficit, which is necessary for weight-loss. I used the excuse that it doesn’t matter that I’m eating so much of something such as fruits or nuts since it’s considered healthy and better than processed food. It’s not an effective excuse, or at least my midsection doesn't think so. I mostly choose meatless options, since it tends to make me feel sick and takes far too much energy and time to digest properly. I’m trying to refrain from having any type of dessert only once a week – right now I’m at around twice/week (damn my sweet tooth!) I have salads way more often than I used to and I’m tracking my water intake using the ‘Water Alert’ app, which I found in the Apple App Store. I start my day off with either lime or lemon water and have tea three times a day to keep my digestive system active. Let’s be honest, weight leaves your body through poop. No shame!

This journey is a huge test of my self control and restraint. It is a great feeling making the right decisions that help me build the discipline I need to bring me closer to my goals. This has carried on into other areas in my life as well and encourages me to stay focused. I have bad days! The other night I started dinner off with a Cesar wrap and ended it with curly fries AND garlic bread. Oops. And a few days before that, I had cake and pizza for lunch! We all fall off the wagon, and I promise I’m gonna keep it real, cause I do too! I’m a work-in-progress, but I’m trying!

I'm going to be as open as I feel comfortable with about my experience to make it a learning one both ways. I'm hoping it also exposes some authenticity to who I am and the intentions I have with running this blog, and that's why I've made this my first post. I'll be sharing my own knowledge in all things life, and I encourage you all to leave me comments, questions, concerns, tips and tricks, and even any suggestions for what you'd like to see from me going forward. I believe we can learn from each other.


RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page